Family documents & organising

UK renewal tracking apps compared (2026)

AnnualVault, Renewa, RenewHub, DueOwl or a calendar: what each costs, where your data lives, whether your partner can see it — and which fits your household.

By Semih Kavaklioglu · Last updated 29 September 2026

On this page

This is a comparison written by the people who make one of the apps in it. We have tried to keep it factual: prices and features are taken from each product’s own website or App Store page on 17 September 2026 and are linked in the sources. If something has changed, tell us and we will fix it.

The options at a glance

Calendar / spreadsheetRenewaRenewHubAnnualVaultDueOwl
PlatformAnyiOS (Android “coming soon”)iOS 15.1+, Apple Silicon MacWeb (dashboard, works on phones)iPhone, iOS 17+, UK App Store
PriceFreeFree, no adsFree download; Pro £4.99/month or £49.99/yearFree tier (5 services, 10 documents, 500 MB); Pro £4/month or £48/yearFree download, 30-day trial; Pro £2.99/month or £19.99/year, covers the whole household
RemindersWhatever alerts you set”Red, amber, green” urgency1 month, 1 week, 1 day before60, 30 and 7 days beforePer renewal type (e.g. 6 months for passports, 1 month for insurance), keeps chasing when overdue
Document attached to the dateSpreadsheet: link onlyNot the focusYes, file attachmentsYes, document vaultYes: scan or share in a PDF, dates read on the device; searchable down to the text inside; old versions archived on renewal
Cost trackingManualYes, plus daily/weekly cost insights and a net-worth viewSubscriptions and deadlinesNot statedYearly spending overview by category, Personal/Business split
Partner / shared householdShared calendar: dates onlyNot statedNo: single device by designNot statedYes: one household on both phones, both reminded, “who is responsible” on every item
Where the data livesYour calendar/sheet providerRenewa’s servers (encrypted)On the device onlyAnnualVault’s serversYour own iCloud; documents never reach the company
Built forAnyoneUK consumers tracking financial productsPrivacy-first single usersLandlords and multi-property complianceUK couples and families; sole traders from 1.0.5

Where each one fits

A calendar or spreadsheet. Genuinely fine if you have five or six renewals and one person who reliably owns them. Set the alert far enough ahead to act (a month for insurance, six for a passport) and put the policy number in the event notes. What it can’t do: hold the document, remember last year’s price, or tell the other adult in the house what’s going on. Our calendar vs to-do app vs tracker guide goes deeper, and the free .ics renewal calendar generator builds the events for you.

Renewa. Closer to a personal-finance app than a document tracker: mortgages, loans, credit cards, insurance and utilities in one list with a traffic-light urgency view, plus salary, debt, budget and pension calculators. Free with no ads, which is unusual. iOS now, Android promised. If your problem is “what do all my financial products cost me” more than “where is the policy PDF”, start here.

RenewHub. The privacy purist’s choice: nothing leaves the phone, no account, no sync. UK templates for MOT, car tax, council tax, TV Licence, boiler service and the like, file attachments, voice input, CSV/JSON export. The flip side of “no sync” is that it is one person, one device: no partner view and no automatic backup beyond your own iPhone backup. Pro is £4.99 a month.

AnnualVault. Built for people “responsible for renewals and compliance, not just their own”: landlords tracking Gas Safety, EICR and EPC across properties, fleet managers, and busy professionals. Web-based with a document vault and fixed 60/30/7-day reminders. The free tier is real but small (5 services); Pro is £4 a month. Partner sharing isn’t described on the site, so ask if that matters to you.

DueOwl. Ours. The design decision that shapes everything else: a renewal isn’t a date, it’s a date plus the document, the cost and the person dealing with it, visible to both partners. Scan a renewal letter and the dates are read on the device; renew and the old document is archived, not lost. Reminders are sized to the renewal type and reach both phones. Since version 1.0.8 (September 2026) it’s built documents-first: one search finds any document by name, provider, policy number or a word inside the PDF, and any file goes out by WhatsApp, email or AirDrop in one tap. Documents stay in your own iCloud and never reach DueOwl, and everything exports as a ZIP. From version 1.0.5 (September 2026) any item can be tagged Personal or Business, so a photographer’s public liability insurance and the family car’s MOT can live in the same app without mixing. It is iPhone only and UK only, and it is a household tool, not a compliance system for portfolios.

Good to know. Honest limits of DueOwl. No Android or web version. No bank connection, so costs are what you type or what the scanner reads. If you need multi-property compliance, AnnualVault fits better; if you refuse any cloud at all, RenewHub does.

How to choose in two minutes

  1. Does anyone else need to see these renewals? If yes, shortlist DueOwl or a shared calendar. If no, all five are open.
  2. Do you need the document with the date? If yes, drop the plain calendar. If no, a calendar with long alerts may be all you need.
  3. Is it home, or properties you’re responsible for? Home: Renewa, RenewHub or DueOwl. Properties: AnnualVault.
  4. Where do you want the data? On the phone only: RenewHub. In your own iCloud: DueOwl. On the provider’s servers: Renewa, AnnualVault.
  5. Budget. £0: calendar, Renewa, AnnualVault free tier. Under £3 a month for two people: DueOwl. Otherwise RenewHub or AnnualVault Pro.

Whichever you pick, the thing that actually saves money is the same: a reminder early enough to get a quote before the auto-renewal goes through. Our one-hour renewal audit is the place to start if you have never listed your renewals at all.

Frequently asked questions

Which renewal tracker is free?

Renewa is free with no ads. AnnualVault has a free tier (5 services, 10 documents, 500 MB) and charges £4 a month or £48 a year beyond that. RenewHub and DueOwl are free to download with paid tiers: RenewHub Pro is £4.99 a month or £49.99 a year; DueOwl Pro is £2.99 a month or £19.99 a year after a 30-day trial, and one DueOwl subscription covers both partners. A calendar or spreadsheet costs nothing.

Which one lets my partner see the renewals too?

DueOwl is built around this: one household on both phones, both reminded, each item showing who is responsible. RenewHub is deliberately single-device (no cloud, no sync). Renewa and AnnualVault do not describe partner or multi-user sharing on their public pages as of September 2026 — check before relying on it. A shared Google or Apple calendar also does this for the dates alone.

Which is best for a landlord with several properties?

AnnualVault: it is designed around Gas Safety, EICR, EPC and insurance across multiple properties, with 60/30/7-day reminders and a document vault. DueOwl and RenewHub are household tools; DueOwl can hold a second property as an asset but has no compliance workflow.

Where is my data stored with each app?

RenewHub: on the device only, no cloud. DueOwl: in your own iCloud (Apple CloudKit); documents never reach the company, which only receives anonymous usage counts that can be turned off. Renewa: encrypted in transit and at rest on the app's infrastructure. AnnualVault: on its web service. A spreadsheet lives wherever you keep it.

Do any of them work on Android?

AnnualVault is a web app, so it works on any phone's browser. Renewa says Android is coming. RenewHub and DueOwl are iOS only (DueOwl is iPhone, iOS 17+; RenewHub also runs on Apple Silicon Macs).

Is a dedicated app worth paying for?

Only if the free route has failed you: a missed renewal, a policy that auto-renewed at a worse price, or documents you couldn't find when the other person needed them. Since 2022 FCA rules stop insurers charging renewing customers more than new ones for the same cover, but the renewal price still drifts up year on year, so the value of any tracker is the reminder arriving early enough to shop around. Try the free tools first: a calendar with 30-day alerts, or our .ics renewal calendar generator.

Sources & last checked

Last checked against official sources: 29 September 2026.